Vocabulary dictionary

Kanji dictionary

Grammar dictionary

Sentence lookup

test

Forums - It feels like it's starting me too high-level. How can I lower it?

Top > renshuu.org > Questions about renshuu

Noneuclidery
Level: 95
I just joined, and it asked me what level I'm at. I studied a few years ago, and remember all the kana, but didn't get very far otherwise. So I selected beginner, but that I don't need to study kana. But it now assumes I know all this kanji that I don't!
In vocab study, it shows me more complex words than I was expecting, and in grammar study, it asks me questions with kanji without furigana. I looked in my settings, and neither vocab or kanji were set to the lowest level. The customise button showed that it thought I'd read a textbook that I was unfamiliar with. I set them all down to the lowest level and unread, but that hasn't changed my study lessons.
What can I do? I don't want to struggle too hard too quickly.
4 years ago
Report Content
マイコー
Level: 261

We're still working to get the initial settings just right, so I really appreciate the response!

So, first, the vocab. By default, the site shows unknown kanji in grey with furigana on top of it. You can change this to not show the kanji at all but hiragana by going into Settings > Vocabulary > Shown unknown kanji like this

The beginner level assumes a small amount of kanji knowledge. However, you can quickly toggle off anything you don't know at the moment and wait until you study it in the site to have it appear! I'm working on a new version of this page that'll better help users like you, but for the time being, please do this:

Learn > Kanji Index. Here, you can select, for example, Proficiency Test > JLPT > N5. The lowest level is based off of this. You can see a lot with the light bulbs indicating you know them. you can quickly turn them off one-by-one, or turn off the entire page. This will prevent them from appearing as kanji without furigana.