Vocabulary dictionary

Kanji dictionary

Grammar dictionary

Sentence lookup

test

Forums - How do I make better use of the grammar quizzes?

Top > renshuu.org > Questions about renshuu

Noneuclidery
Level: 95
I'm fairly new to Japanese, so when I get questions like this, I'm missing some required information to answer them.
2yqkkbtqpkt2kcmwgurrftzt0.pngIn this case, I know that the grammar I'm learning is も (for "nothing"), but that doesn't help, because all the answers have that. Instead it seems like I'm being tested on vocab. It's not the first time it's happened.

What should I do in cases like this? Am I starting on these too early?
4 years ago
Report Content
SirEdgar
Level: 1241

Sometimes the grammar quizzes are more asking about vocab, but then again a lot of Japanese grammar is about using the right vocab (as essentially a lot of Japanese grammar is about 1 to 3 sillable long hiragana only words and how they are to be used in a sentence).

In this specific case you provided as an example it is still about grammar, specifically how that grammar is to be used, as the used (or not used) particle after どこ affect the meaning of the sentence [or rather how much sense it makes otherwise].

On the grammar page for も [Nothing/no one/nobody (A)] is one additional usage/user note from マイコー as follows:

owtked7qyqouoarm3gxa787mf.png

Now I am unfortunately struggling to properly explain when to use どこでも vs. どこにも (i.e. how to determine which is to be used derived by what criteria of the used verb), beyond a general "で" indicates something is done at a location while "に" indicates that something is/exists at a location. In the example sentence you provided I would have chosen どこにも but more from the "this feels right" perspective and less from an academic "it has to be this way because" approach ^^".